1. Navigate Chugoku - TOP>
  2. Overview of Chugoku Region

Overview of Chugoku Region

The Chugoku Region takes pride in its three World Heritage Sites, and is blessed with traditional culture.
Experience beautiful nature while enjoying gourmet meals.

The Chugoku Region is made up of five prefectures located at the western tip of Honshu.

Culture and tradition is still deeply engrained in the Chugoku Region, where you can visit three World Heritage Sites: Itsukushima Shrine, Iwami Ginzan Silver Mine, and the Atomic Bomb Dome. There are also many historical towns that you can visit to experience the "real Japan".

There are also many spots where you can enjoy beautiful scenery, such as the strong waves of the Japan Sea in Sanin Kaigan National Park, the peaceful water and countless islands of the Setonaikai National Park, and Mt. Daisen, the highest peak in the region in the Daisen-Oki National Park.

There are also many people who come to the region to enjoy some of Japan's finest cuisine, featuring fresh locally-grown vegetables and fresh seafood from both the turbulent Japan Sea and the calm Seto Inland Sea.

Overview of Chugoku Region